Nevado del Ruiz

Exif Data: Nikon D3200 ; Lens:  Nikkor AF Zoom 70-300; 122 mm, ISO 100; f/7,1; 1/800 s.

After exactly one month without blogging I’m back!

Truth be told, I miss blogging but I’m definitely not thinking about doing another 365 project, it takes a lot of time and that’s something I lack right now.

One week ago I traveled with my family to another city, when we were on the way, very early in the morning, I got to see something I had wanted to see for a long time; “El nevado del Ruiz”.

It is a volcano located about two hours driving away from my city; it’s composed by many layers of lava and rocks.

The volcano has been active for about two million years, with three major eruptive periods.

On the 13th of november 1985, an eruption buried and destroyed the town named Armero, and caused an estimated 25.000 deaths.  The volcano is part of a national natural park named Los Nevados, that contains several other volcanoes.

The top of Nevado del Ruiz is covered by large glaciers that have retreated significantly since 1985 because of the global warming.

This year, on the first week of July the volcano erupted, forcing authorities to declare a red alert and order the immediate evacuation of about 2000 people out of fear an expanding eruption may cause avalanches; meteorologists said the volcano began erupting lava and spewing ashes and gases, a month after seismic activity within the volcano made authorities declare an orange alert; this eruption caused an ash cloud as high as 9 km and affected Pereira, which is 89,5 km away.

Although the red alert changed, the volcano is still spewing ashes and that’s why you can see the ash cloud coming out of it.

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

Hola!

Después de un mes exacto sin bloggear, hoy estoy de regreso.

La verdad, me hace falta escribir y tomar fotos tan seguido como antes, pero tengo muy claro que otro 365 no estará en mis planes por un largo tiempo, se encesita mucha decdicación y mucho tiempo, y eso es precisamente lo que ahora me no tengo.

Hace una semana viajé con mi familia a otra ciudad, y muy temprano durante el camino pude ver algo que hacía mucho tiempo quería ver, “El nevado del Ruiz”.

Es un volcán que está mas o menos a dos horas de Pereira en carro, y está compuesto de muchas capas de lava, ceniza y rocas. Ha estado activo por cerca de dos millones de alis, en los que ha tenido 3 periodos de erupción.

El 13 de noviembre de 1985, después d euna erupción, enterró y destruyó el pueblo de Armero, causando un estimado de 25.000 muertos.

El volcán pertenece al “Parque nacional natural de los nevados”, que está compuesto por otros volcanes.

a cima del nevado está cubierta por nieve y hielo que desde 1985 se ha reducido significativamente debido al calentamiento global.

Este año, durante la primera semana de julio, el volcán hizo erupción, lo que obligó a las autoridades a declarar la alerta roja y a evacuar a 2000 personas por temos de que la erupción pudiera causar una avalancha; los metereólogos dijeron que el volcán inició lanzando cenizas y gases, esto un mes después de registrar alta actividad sísmica por la que las autoridades declararon alerta naranja; esta erupción causó una nube de ceniza que alcanzó los 9,6 kilómetros de altura y afectó ciudades como Pereira, que está a 89,5 kilómetros del volcán.

Aunque la alerta roja cambió, el volcán sigue activo, por eso en la foto se puede ver la nube de ceniza saliendo de él.

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.

26 thoughts on “Nevado del Ruiz

  1. Pablo, it’s beautiful. I love the photo with the green mountains in the foreground. It is a fantastic sight. I cannot imagine being able to see such a juxtaposition in real life. Happy to see you here! 🙂

  2. Hola Pablo. Me alegro de verte de nuevo. Gracias por compartir este pedazo de la naturaleza. Es algo como algo tan hermoso puede ser tan peligroso y fatal.
    Saludos –
    Rosy

  3. Nice shot, Pablo. Rule of thirds in full effect here as well. Good stuff.
    BTW:
    Welcome back. Was wondering where you’ve been.

    Chris

    1. Thank you Chris!
      Right after I finished my 365 project, I decided to take some time off and rest a bit, but now I’m starting to shoot pictures again.
      Hopefuly I’ll be posting often 🙂
      Hope you are great!

  4. I have never seen a volcano in person. I think it would be quite amazing. I like the smoke coming out the top.

  5. Dear Pablo,
    It was a delight to find your post, and to know that you are blogging again. It will be much easier without that commitment to do so every day.

    Your photo is amazing! I didn’t know about this volcano. Such a sad story. In one of my old posts I tell the story of being caught in the ashfall of Mt. St. Helens. The power of that eruption was terrible and awesome, and there was a tragic loss of life. But less than 200 lives were lost, as compared to 25, 000. That is staggering.

    I am glad you came home safe and sound, and lived to tell the tale. I look forward to the next post!

  6. I like your photo but, to be honest, I wish I never see something like this.
    A bit of smoke looks nice but I hope it be just a bit of smoke and no eruption, no lava.
    The scenery is very beautiful.

  7. Wow, so impressive, isn’t it Pablo, when Earth does these unexpected things! Glad you’re back, missed you, but happy to know that you’ll give yourself the permission to just shoot when you’re so inspired! That feels so sane doesn’t it? 🙂

  8. Me encanta esta toma, Pablo. Bellisima luz y composicion. Tambien me alegra saber que decidiste quedarte aqui y no se hace falta que sea diario claro …. 🙂

Comments and critiques are apreciated.