Hola Guacamayas!

dscn1634-as-smart-object-1

dscn1619-as-smart-object-1dsc_8913-as-smart-object-1

dsc_8908-as-smart-object-1dsc_8792-as-smart-object-1-as-smart-object-1

ENGLISH:

These beauties have been my visitors lately.

Well, not quite my visitors, but in the recent days, they’ve been coming to the tree in front of my balcony.

The first time I saw them was about a week ago. It was pretty strange because these kind of birds tend to be quite noisy and usually that’s how you’d know they are around, but these ones weren’t noisy at all and I realized they were there because I was lucky enough to see them flying close by.

At first I thought there were only 2 parrots, but later I noticed 2 macaws. Today during my lunch break I saw 4 macaws and it made me so happy. They’ve been coming every single day and guess who’s crazy about it 😉 I feel very lucky having such view.

After doing some research and looking up some articles online, I found out that they are “Severe macaws”, the largest mini-macaws in the world.

Some interesting facts about these birds:

  • Their lifespan is up to 80 years.
  • Mini-macaws reach reproductive maturity when they are 4 years old.
  • Sever Macaws are native to South America. They can be found in Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela and Bolivia. They are also found in Panama
  • They can grow up to 40 cm.
  • They normally eat fruits, nuts and seeds, the latter is what they come to get in the tree.

To enlarge the pictures click on them.

ESPAÑOL:  

Hola!

Estos animalitos han sido mis visitantes en los últimos días.

Okay, no exactamente mis visitantes, pero últimamente han estado llegando al árbol que queda al frente de mi balcón.

Al principio vi dos loros,  pero más tarde noté que había también dos guacamayas. Hoy mientras almorzaba llegaron 4 guacamayas. Desde hace una semana aproximadamente están llegando cada día al árbol.

Después de buscar un tiempo, encontré que estas aves son “Ara Severa”, la especie más grande de las “mini guacamayas”.

Algunos datos interesantes de éstas aves:

  • En condiciones ideales, pueden llegar a vivir hasta 80 años.
  • Su etapa reproductiva inicia cuando tienen 4 años.
  • Son originarias de Sur América, se encuentran en Colombia, Brasil, Venezuela y Bolivia. Además pueden ser vistas en Panamá.
  • Pueden llegar a medir 40 cm.
  • Normalmente comen frutas, nueces y semillas.

 

5 thoughts on “Hola Guacamayas!

  1. Your capture of the color is, as usual, spectacular. How lucky you are to have these beautiful birds come to visit you! I looked at the little brown winter birds flocking to my feeder today, and can not imagine seeing this much color in a bird outside my window during these cold months! Okay, I can not imagine seeing this much color in a bird around here at any time of the year!

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

