Day 363

Exif Data: Nikon D3200 ; Lens:  Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55; 55 mm, ISO 200; f/5,6; 1/50 s.

I came across a beautiful parrot today, it was in a big cage and I approached to it to try to get some pictures.

When he saw me he started asking “Quiere cacao?” which means “Do you want cacao?”, that’s funny, almost all the parrots that I’ve seen in my entire life are able to say that; I remember that a couple of months ago, when Veronica and Matias, my friends from Chile came to Colombia, we went to the zoo, there was a sort of parrot section and when we were walking by it, all the parrots were screaming the very same sentence; I have no clue why is it so famous among the parrot world.

When I got close to the cage, the parrot approached to the camera and tried to bite the lens, then stepped back and asked me again if I wanted cacao; I laughed and it seems he didn’t like it very much because as soon as he heard me laughing, he quickly approached to bite the lens and then walked away from me.

It took me a long time taking this shot, I took over 30 of this kind but the most of them weren’t in focus; this one is the one I liked the most; I got it when a kid came close and started talking to the parrot, the animal stood completely still and stared at the kid, that gave me the chance to get this one.

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

Hola!

Hoy me encontré con un loro que estaba en una jaula muy grande, me acerqué a él  para intentar hacer unos acercamientos.

Apenas me vio me preguntó “Quiere cacao?”, es raro, la mayoría de loros que he visto en toda mi vida dicen esa frase; hace unos meses cuando Verónica y Matias, mis amigos de Chile vinieron, fuimos al zoologico y en la sección donde están los loros escuchamos esa frase de casi todos ellos. No tengo ni idea qué tiene de especial esa frase que la hace tan común en el mundo de los loros.

Cuando me acerqué a la jaula y puse el lente cerca, el loro se acercó e intentó morder el lente, luego se alejó y me preguntó otra vez si quería cacao, me reí y al parecer no le gustó porque apenas escuchó mi risa vino rápido a intentar morder el lente otra vez.

Me tomó un buen tiempo y mucho trabajo poder tomar esta foto, porque a parte de que el loro quería morder el lente, se movía de un lado a otro, lo que hacía que el enfoque, totalmente manual, fuera imposible; por fortuna un niño se acercó a la jaula y empezó a hablarle al loro, que parecía hipnotizado y se quedó quieto en la posición perfecta, ese era el momento perfecto para hacer click!

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.

17 thoughts on “Day 363

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

