Day 290

Exif Data: Nikon D3200 ; Lens:  Nikkor AF Zoom 70-300; 300 mm, ISO 400; f/5,6 ; 1/1000 s.

 

I found this dragonfly today in this stick, when I got close to take a picture, it flew and I walked away; some minutes later I looked at the stick and the dragonfly was there again, I approached slowly and quietly but the same thing happened, it flew away, but I knew it was gonna be back in some minutes, so I sat close by to wait, the dragonfly came back and I snapped some pictures; I could get really close, but the angle was different and the eyes weren’t visible, therefore, I chose this one.

Some facts about this animals:

Some scientists say that the high oxygen levels during the Paleozoic era allowed dragonflies to grow to monster size.

Dragonflies are expert fliers. They can fly straight up and down, hover like a helicopter and even mate mid-air.

If they can’t fly, they’ll starve because they only eat prey they catch while flying.

Some adult dragonflies live for only a few weeks while others live up to a year.

Dragonflies are not born with wings.

Male dragonflies can be very territorial

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

 

Hola!

Hoy encontré esta libélula en un palo, cuando me acerqué a tomarle una foto, voló y me devolví al lugar donde estaba; después de unos minutos volví a mirar y otra vez estaba en el mismo palo, me acerqué más lento y mas silencioso que antes, pero lo mismo pasó.
Me imaginé que la libélula iba a volver al mismo lugar, así que me senté cerca a esperar, y así pasó, unos minutos después estaba ahi otra vez; tomé unas fotos, incluso me acerqué más, pero el ángulo de las otras es diferente y los ojos no se ven, por eso elegí esta.

Algunos datos sobre las libélulas:

Hay científicos que dicen que los niveles de oxígeno durante el Paleozóico eran tan altos que las libélulas podian crecer hasta alcanzar un tamaño gigante.

Las libélulas son excelentes voladores, lo pueden hacer hacia arriba, hacia abajo, como un helicóptero, incluso reproducirse en el aire.

Si no pueden volar, se mueren de hambre, pues sólo pueden capturar a su presa en el aire.

Algunas libélulas adultas viven sólo unas semanas, mientras que otras pueden vivir todo un año.

Las libélulas no nacen con alas.

Los machos pueden llegar a ser muy territoriales.

 

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.

10 thoughts on “Day 290

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

