Day 226

Exif Data: Nikon D5000 ; Lens:  Nikkor AF Zoom 70-300; 120 mm, ISO 200; f/6,3 ; 1/640s.

To me, there is not a better way to finish a hard week like this one than taking photos of birds, that is so relaxing and enjoyable.

Even though I’ve photographed this bird so many times, I don’t get tired of it, every time I see it I find different angles and I find it more and more interesting, it’s an old macaw, it’s losing the feathers on its chest.

I know where it lives, it’s nice to go there and see it, the macaw is usually is in a tree but  every time it sees me, it immediately starts to get closer and closer, this guy is not afraid of me or the camera; I want to get really close to it someday and shoot a macro of the patterns of its facial feather pattern -that is as unique as a fingerprint- but I’m afraid it doesn’t react well, they tend to bite when they get annoyed.

Wish you a great weekend.

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

Hola!

Para mi no hay una mejor manera de terminar una semana tan larga y ocupada como esta, que tomar fotos de aves.

Esta guacamaya ha sido mi modelo en muchas ocasiones, pero nunca me canso de verla, siempre encuentro diferentes ángulos y la veo más y más interesante, es una guacamaya vieja, ya está perdiendo las plumas de su pecho.

Yo se donde vive, y me encanta ir a verla, aunque no puede ser tan seguido; usualmente está en un árbol pero apenas me ve, empieza a acercarse rapidamente, es como si hubiera alguna conexión, al menos ya se que no me tiene miedo ni a mi ni a la cámara. Me gustaría acercarme más un día, y lograr un macro de las lineas de su cara, que son únicas como las huellas digitales de un humano, pero cuando se sienten amenazadas suelen ser agresivas y muerden, así que no me atrevo.

Feliz fin de semana!

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.

17 thoughts on “Day 226

  1. Pablo, he is pinning his eyes and his feathers on his head are standing up. That means he is either excited by something or fearful. If you approach him when he is doing this, he will bite. If his feathers are smooth and his pupils dilated normally, he is relaxed, and you can approach him. I suggest offering him some food. Like a cracker or bread or fruit. No avocado or onion though. Leave it if he doesn’t take it from you. Try again and again. Sooner or later he will come to you to take the food. When he does, you have bonded with him. Don’t be afraid of his beak because it is big. My Amazon can take a chunk out better than he can. Don’t let him intimidate you. Don’t jerk your hand back or act afraid. Be slow and calm and talk to him. I promise he will come to you sooner or later. 🙂 Then, he will never forget you.

  2. BTW, don’t look him directly in the eye. That’s considered aggressive by birds. Look at his face instead. Stand or sit at the same place every time. Leave the food nearby. Bring it in closer to you if he takes it. You’ll know.

  3. I want to see a photo without the feathers standing up. He should not be losing feathers on his chest. He may be sick. See if you can get a photo like that. Let’s see the whole bird. Thanks.

  4. Excelente toma, que bien captada esta guacamaya, la verdad son maravillosas estas huellas de la cara, muy bien lograda esta fotografia, los colores te quedaron fantasticos!!!!!!!!

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

