Day 194

Exif Data: Nikon D5000 ; Lens: Nikkor AF Zoom 70-300; 145 mm, ISO 1600; f/4,5 ; 1/400 s.

Today, when I was about to leave for the gym, the doorman told me that there was a package for me;  I was expecting to get a new lens cap, I took the package and I saw it was from Denmark.

Lens cap? It will never arrive, I ordered it almost 2 months ago and it never came nor will come; instead, I got something better, a gift from my Danish mom, she went to Gambia a couple of months ago and bought this for me; she knows me very well, she knows I love postcards and key chains, they all are important part of my room, if you see day 181 you will understand why, just look at my wall, and those things hanging from the ceiling arte key chains from different countries.

I went to work out for a while and came home to write to her, I wanted to thank her for what they sent to me, and I wanted to talk to her, it had been a long while no hearing her voice, I was nervous when I called, but then I got really happy, it was nice talking to her, knowing that  up there at home  they are doing fine and they all are healthy, we promised talking more often, I’ll try calling at least once a week, I don’t wanna lose contact with them.

To me, the gift wasn’t just the package I got today, what I consider a gift is that some day our paths crossed and that gave me the chance of having in my life another mom, and another family that I can always rely on.

I miss you Mette, Hans Christian and Theis.

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

Hola!

Hoy cuando salía para el gimnasio recibí un paquete; desde hace un tiempo estaba esperando una tapa nueva para uno de mis lentes, cuando lo miré, vi que el paquete venía de Dinamarca.

Tapa de lente? No, la pedí hace casi dos meses, nunca llegó ni llegará; pero recibí algo mejor, un regalo de mi mamá de Dinamarca. Ella estuvo en Gambia hace unos meses y compró algo para mi; me conoce muy bien, sabe que los llaveros y las postales me encantan, y que con todo eso decoro mi cuarto (En day 181 pueden ver la pared llena de fotos y postales, y lo que cuelga del techo son llaveros que he conseguido de diferentes partes del mundo).

Fui a hacer ejercicio un rato, y vine a la casa rápido para escribirle, para agradecerle por lo que me había enviado, por sus palabras en la postal y en la carta y por haber tenido ese gesto tan bonito, también quería llamarla, pero me asustaba un poco, porque aunque nos escribimos mucho, no hablamos tan constantemente, pero lo hice, y el susto se fue despues de escuchar su voz.

Fue perfecto haber hablado con ella, saber que todos están bien en mi otra casa; nos prometimos hablar más seguido, al menos una vez a la semana.

Para mi, el regalo no fue lo que recibí hoy, el verdadero regalo es que nuestros caminos se hayan cruzado y así la vida me haya dado otra familia en la que también puedo confiar.

Los extraño,  Mette, Hans Christian y Theis.

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.


 

15 thoughts on “Day 194

  1. That’s a great photograph of your other family. I love the tender way you composed the letter with the key chain and the beautiful children postcard. I know you miss this family. You are wise to keep in touch. Friends are so easily mislaid unless we make a real effort to keep in touch. This is a heartwarming story that tells us as much about you as it does about them. I know they miss you too. Thank you for sharing this part of your life with us, Pablo.

  2. Los sentimientos de afecto, cariño y agradecimiento hacia ellos permaneceran siempre en ti y en mi, por haber sido tu familia y haberte tratado como un hijo .

  3. Sabes una cosa? Me encanta que mantengas con tu familia contacto y que hables con ellos seguido. Desde que estuviste en su casa fuiste, eres y serás para ellos un integrantemas!!!

    Me alegro mucho!!

  4. Wow, I was really touched by this post, Pablo. I, too, was an exchange student at one time, and I know how important host families are. It’s so wonderful that you’ve stayed in touch with yours. I love the photograph of the postcard, letter, and, keychain. It’s beautifully composed. It’s so nice, as well, to see a photography of your other family. Lovely post!

  5. Bella experiencia, la imaagen lo dice todo, hubiera centrado mejor para no recortar la fotografia, te sobro un poco de espacioo a la derecha, pero aqui la historia supera la imagen!!!!

  6. You have been given the opportunity for such a rich life. And I am so happy that you have made the most of your opportunities and that you have such a large circle of family who loves you.

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

