33 comments on “Day 191

  1. Wow! Pablo, that is such a cool story! What a proud and positive legacy your grandfather left behind. It is so cool that you and your family are supporting the school named after him. I think it is just wonderful.

    • Silly me, I didn’t read the whole post, I forgot the last paragraph, so I thought that those kids were happy only for the books. Sorry.
      Sorry for such a stupid question.
      I’m sure your grand father would be proud .

      • It’s okay mate.
        Wherever he is, he is proud of his legacy, I’m pretty sure of that.
        BTW, we donated more than 200 books, I’m not sure about the exact number.

  2. This is my favorite post so far… I can imagine your feelings.. and I’m completely sure that those books mean a lot for that school, not just because for their value but for that they will mean to all next generations… I’m sure they weren’t just normal books, I believe they were very interesting and valuable…. a fantastic and unforgettable present from your family to those kids…. only education can change the future of a nation…. well done Pablo !!!

  3. I love this picture and the message behind it!!🙂 Well done, definitly you’re making history as well.

  4. This is a beautiful photo and story. I love the way the school is nestled in the mountainside and the banana trees (is that what they are?) are framing the photo from underneath… it looks like a wonderful place to attend school.

  5. Esta visita generó varios sentimientos : de alegria al ver que finalmente se hizo una gran obra en su nombre y una realidad porque muchos niños se estan educando allí , de esto muy seguramente dependera gran parte de su futuro, mi papá estaría feliz. El otro sentimiento es de tristeza y nostalgia porque el ya no está con nosotros y lo extrañamos mucho, definitivamente esta foto y la historia que escribiste es el mejor homenaje que le puedes hacer a mi papá.
    Gracias. Te amo.

  6. Me emocioné mucho con tu historia, debes sentirte muy orgulloso de tu abuelo y de todo el legado que dejó. Seguro que desde el cielo debe estar feliz con este lindo colegio y con este sentido homenaje que le estas haciendo en tu blog. Un abrazo!

  7. Ah, Pablo. You honor your grandfather. What a fine man he must have been. A man with a vision. Now, it is coming true with the school. This must make you and your family happy and proud as you should be. This is a fitting tribute.

  8. Pablo, te voy a escribir en español porque es mi idioma, y lo que te voy a decir no te lo podría decir de otra forma. Sinceramente me ha emocionado tu post. Siento una verdadera admiración por aquellas personas que luchan (pacíficamente claro está) por mejorar la vida de otras. Es más, estoy envidioso de ti por haber podido ver esas sonrisas tan gratificantes de niños, niños que estoy seguro que sacarán a tu país adelante. Creo que esos instantes de sentir que has hecho bien, que has hecho feliz, no tienen precio. Siento mucho que tu abuelo no pueda verlo, pero creo que de alguna manera se le hace homenaje cada día, cada segundo que el colegio permanece abierto, y también cuando no lo está; porque esos niños pueden aprender, pueden tener ese derecho a la educación que todavía no es global. Y aunque esté a miles de kilómetros de tí, gracias, muchas gracias por publicar esto porque me anima a continuar mi misión de concienciación e intentar llevarla más lejos. From Seville -Leo🙂

  9. Such a lovely legacy for your grandfather—to enhance the learning of those who need it most. Your most interesting post reminded me of the proverb “Learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere.” Must be comforting to know that he will touch so many even after death.

  10. Unfortunately, I think books are going by the wayside in favor of facebooking, liking, twittering, etc. Do today’s kids read books like we did 40 years ago? I think not. Glad your grandfather was wise in the way of books and education.

    • Yes, books are not as used as 40 years ago unfortunately, but these kids don’t have the chance to access to computers very often, and therefore, they se books and they like it, some of them told us that books are important for them.

  11. Hey Pablo, te debo decir dos cositas, que me salen del alma y que tu foto y tu historia me hacen recordar mucho; primero que he sido amigo de tu familia hace muchos años y por esto conocí muy bien a Don Hugo Angel Jaramillo, conversé horas y horas con él deleitándome de su cultura, sapiencia y queridura y lamenté muchísimo su partida, la otra cosita que te queria contar es que Yo estaba acompañando a toda tu familia el dia que naciste y presencie la salida triunfal de Liz con su primer retoño, y esta historia me hace sentir muy orgulloso de vos y sobretodo muy viejo ……
    Un abrazo y un saludo muy especial..
    Jorge Andrés.

  12. Espectaculaar historia y que bueno de alguna manera se participante de la misma, de alguna manera me parece que heredaste muchos sentimientos y valores de tus ancentros, cuando a uno todavia lo sorprende una sonrisa de un niño tiene el futuro asegurado, bien por esa Pablo, otra vez la narrativa supera la imaginativa!!!!

  13. This post really resonated with me and I have to tell you that I have come back a few times to look at the photo and read the words you have written. You have so much to be proud of, my friend.

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

