Day 144

Hey People!

This has been such a relaxing day: swimming, taking photos and walking.

In one of my walks I saw this iguana; I’m really glad that lately I’ve been changing a lot, because I used to be extremely afraid of them and the first thing that I would have done was run away, instead doing it, I started to get closer slowly so that it was not going to get scared and leave; I went on my knees in order to get a better angle and when I realized, I was too close to it, less than one meter and it was staying still.

I’ve been liking these animals a lot, I’m a big fan of their scales and how they kind of create a mini universe.

Some facts about these reptiles:

Iguanas are herbivores and therefore they have to be fed only with a vegetarian diet. They shouldnt eat any kind of animal protein, only some wild species can eat insects. They like a big variety of fruits that include strawberries, melons, green beans and peppers.

The iguanas can be aggressive during the mating season, that’s why they should be left alone with their  partners until the season, that lasts 3 months is over.

Iguanas can be as small as 35 centimeters and as large as 2,20 meters, and weigh up to 8 kilograms.

They have sharp teeth and long tails to defend themselves from another animals.

Exif Data: Nikon D5000 ; Lens:  Nikkor AF Zoom 70-300; 300 mm, ISO 200; f/5,6 ; 1/1250s.

Regards.

Hola!

Hoy ha sido un día muy relajante, estuve andando, tomando fotos y caminando mucho.

En una de mis caminatas me crucé con ésta iguana; me alegra haber cambiado, porque de lo contraqrio, lo primero que habría hecho habría sido correr por el miedo que les tenía, pero como ese miedo ya no existe, empecé a acercarme lentamente para no asustarla; despues de un rato, me arrodillé para captar un mejor ángulo, la iguana seguía quieta y luego me di cuenta que estabamos muy cerca, a menos de un metro de distancia el uno del otro.

Estos animales me encantan, me parecen misteriosos, no se como pueden correr tan rápido y pasar tanto tiempo debajo del agua; además me fascina la textura de sus escamas.

Algunos datos sobre estos reptiles:

Las iguanas son animales hervíboors,  por eso deben mantener una dieta estríctamente vegetariana; no deben consumir ningún tipo de proteina proveniente de otro animal, aunque hay una especie muy exótica de ellas que come insectos. A las iguanas les gusta una gran variedad de frutas, que incluye las fresas, los melones, ríjoles verdes y lis pimentones.

Durante la época de apareamiento se ponen muy agresivas, por eso es mejor dejarlas solas hasta que la temporada, que dura 3 meses, termine.

Las iguanas pueden medir entre 35 centímetros hasta 2,20 metros, y llegan a pesar 8 kilos.

Tienen dientes muy afilados y colas muy largas que usan como mecanismo de defensa contra otros animales.

Datos de la foto: Nikon D5000 ; Lente: Nikkor AF Zoom 70-300; 300 mm, ISO 200; f/5,6 ; 1/1250s.

Saludos!

Pablo.

7 thoughts on “Day 144

  1. WOW! You must have been really, really close to that iguana. Remember, they do have sharp teeth and strong tails! This photograph is phenomenal. Do you know the stone walls built between farms in England and Europe and the US too a century ago? The stones were laid without cement or any aggregate to bind them. They stood of their own weight and balance. The scales on this animal remind me of those perfectly arranged stones in those walls. Wonderful photograph. I have never seen an iguana presented in such a way before. Thank you for this impression.

  2. Estos animales, me parece, que a pesar de ser muy feos son supremamente fotogenicos, te ha quedado muy buena!!!!!!!

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

