Day 140


Hey Everyone!

Today it’s the 29th of february, the day that only exists every four years.

My cousin wrote to me yesterday, pointing at this is the day that “doesn’t exist” in my project, and he suggested me to do something that symbolizes either infinity or nothing; it was a hard task because this week is full of exams and assignments, but I decided to take the challenge. His suggestion kind of kept me awake last night, I was thinking about something that could represent infinity or nothing, and finally I figured something out.

I thought about posting just a white square, but to me that’s a cliché and definitely ain’t the kind of photography that I’ve been doing, sure it could be something interesting but is more philosophical.

This is my interpretation of infinity, in my opinion the bokeh is something that goes beyond what we see, something that could reach infinity; there are lots of shapes on it that show nothing but at the same time create a powerful atmosphere.

Exif Data: Nikon D5000 ; Lens:  Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55; 55 mm, ISO 250; f/5,6 ; 1/100 s.

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

 

Hola!

29 de febrero, el día que sólo existe cada cuatro años.

Mi primo me escribió un  correo anoche, recordándome que éste es el día “que no existe en mi proyecto”, y me sugirió a ahcer algo que simbolizara el infinito o la nada. Fue una tarea dificil porque esta semana está llena de examenes y estudio; pero acepté la sugerencia y me reté a hacerlo. Estuve toda la noche pensando en qué podía simbolizar la nada o el infinito, pero al final, algo se me ocurrió.

Al principio pensé en poner una foto completamente en blanco, pero me parece muy típico, y ese no es el tipo de fotos que he venido haciendo, puede ser interesante pero no tiene nada que ver con mi estilo, y me parece además algo más filosófico.

Esta fue mi interpretación de la nada y el infinito, para mi, el bokeh es algo que va más alla de lo que podemos ver, algo que podría llegar al infinito; tiene muchas formas, es nada, y a la vez crea una atmóspera potente sin ser algo definido.

Datos de la foto: Nikon D5000 ; Lens: Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55; 55 mm, ISO 250; f/5,6 ; 1/100 s.

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.


14 thoughts on “Day 140

  1. I love the photo you decided on.. You’ve created such beautiful bokeh and I ove your last paragraph (en english)..
    BOO!! to your cousin for pointing it out. Sadly, I also realised the same thing, so for me it was a BONUS day with a fun photo..

    You need to NOT make it your Day140, since you’ll end up with 366 images.. You should name it “my cousin doesn’t get me”… hehehehe

  2. seems that you have a great family😉

    your cousin is probably right, and the speed of the earth is responsible of this day… when I first saw your picture without reading the meaning of it… I though you wanted to represent speed through distortion, a second thought was that you shot a kaleidoscopic glass to represent infinity, but when I finally read your comment I understood why you are an original photographer…

    great pic, well done ! This is for me the pic 366

  3. i really should have left my own ‘nothing’ picture for today….oh well! I think you’ve made a great interpretation of infinity🙂

  4. Hey Pablo I am your fathers’s periodontist, Jorge Andrés, Your work its awesome, go ahead with the project….it is very inspirational.
    Follow my photo work at instagram if you have Iphone.
    Best Regards.

    Jorge Andrés Morales V.

  5. This bokeh is lovely, and you know how I like my bokeh! I am glad that you stayed away from the plain white square. I am sticking with 365 days instead of a year, because I started mid-year….

  6. Excelente tu interpretacion, a mi personalmente me encantan los bokeh, esta fotografia esta fabulosa!!!!!!!!!!

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

