Day 125

Hey people!

Today i was trying to get clear reflections on some water drops that I placed on a glass using a straw.

I got the idea from a friend of mine on flickr, who sent me a tutorial that he wrote by himself about this kind of shots.

I think what makes this kind of photos interesting is the background; there are so many things you can use, you just have to be creative.

I used a chessboard because I wanted to reflect something in black and white, which is not something really common in me, but I’ve been exploring different ways lately; and also, as the drops are almost round, I thought it would be nice to compromise a different shape, like the squares of the chessboard.

I think I’ll keep experimenting with different backgrounds and trying to get some colorful stuffs reflect on the drops; also, I have to get a new glass because the one I used is old and some small scratches are visible.

Exif Data: Nikon D5000 ; lens: Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55; 55 mm, ISO 250; f/5,6; 1/40 sec; flash on.

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

Hola!

Hoy intenté captar el reflejo de algo en unas gotas de agua que puse sobre un vidrio usando un pitillo.

La idea me la dió un amigo de flickr, que hace algún timpo me envió un tutorial que él mismo escribió sobre cómo hacer esta clase de fotos.

Creo que lo que las hace interesante no son sólo las gotas, sino lo que se use como fondo o elemento a ser reflejado, hay millones de posibilidades, simplemente hay que ser creativo.

Para mi primer intento utilicé un tablero de ajedréz porque quería reflejar algo en blanco y negro, lo cual no es muy común en mi, pero ultimamente quiero explorar nuevas posibilidades; y además porque quería capturar diferentes formas, como las gotas son redondas, los cuadrados del tablero podían hacer un buen contraste.

Creo que voy a seguir intentando hacer éste tipo de fotos con diferentes colores, reflejando varios objetos y algunas cosas de colores que ya tengo en mente; además para eso, voy a tener que conseguir un vidrio nuevo, pues el que tengo está un poco rayado, y esos rayones son visibles en la foto😉

Datos de la toma: Nikon D5000 ; lente: Nikkor AF-S DX 18-55; 55 mm, ISO 250; f/5,6; 1/40 sec; flash on.

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.

25 thoughts on “Day 125

  1. This is awesome Pablo.
    You did a great job and chose a fabulous pattern..
    (I’ve done this with gummi bears. Not sure if I have them posted anywhere to show you)

    Be warned: once you begin this process, it is very addictive. You find yourself thinking of items to reflect.. Maybe it’s just me. Maybe i’m crazy.. hehhe

    1. Hahaha!
      It’s not just you… Yeterday I posted this and later went to the university, while I was in class, I was just thinking about other things to reflect😀
      Would love to see the photo you did, gummi bears would look so cool here!🙂

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

