Day 114

Hi Everybody!

Today I went to take some cookies to my neighbor, she lives alone in her apartment and has some birds in cages.

I took my camera with me because I really wanted to take photos of the birds, but their cages are small and I don’t like taking pictures where you can see them in a cage.

Later I saw her cat laying on the floor, to me it kind of looked like “Puss in boots” and that made me change the subject of the photo, but as soon as he saw me, he ran away; my neighbor says that he is afraid of men.

I chased him for a while, but everytime he saw me getting close, he started running so he could hide under the table or bed. I spent probably 15 minutes like this, but at the end, my neighbor sat on the couch and the cat went close to her and stayed still for some minutes and I got some photos with no problem; when I looked at him for the first time, I realized that he kind of looks like “Puss in boots”.

I also found some interesting things about cats I didn’t know:

A cat’s hearing is better than a dog’s. They are very sensitive to vibrations and therefore it’s said that cats can detect earthquake  15 minutes before humans can.

On average, cats spend 2/3 of the day sleeping; the kittens are supposed to sleep a lot because a growth hormone is released only when they sleep.

A cat can jump up to five times its own height.

Cats only meow at people, they hardly do it at other cats, they would rather spit.

Black cats are considered a sign of bad luck in different countries in the world, but in some parts of Australia they are considered lucky.

A cat has 12 whiskers on each side of the face; their heart beats nearly twice as fast as a human heart.

Exif Data: Nikon D5000 ; lens: Tamron AF 55-200; 200 mm, ISO 1600;  f/5,6 ; 1/200 sec.

Have a great weekend!

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

Hola a todos!

Hoy fui a llevarle unas galletas a mi vecina, ella vive sola en su apartamento y tiene varios pájaros en jaulas; llevé la cámara para tomar algunas fotos pero las jaulas eran muy pequeñas y no me gusta que se vean las barras en las fotos.

Después vi a su gato pasar, en cierto modo se me pareció al gato con botas y decidí cambiar las fotos de los pájaros por una del gato; intenté acercarme pero apenas me vió salió corriendo, mi vecina dice que le tiene miedo a los hombres y por eso huye.

Estuve persiguiéndolo un buen tiempo, pero cada vez que me veía cerca salía a correr y se escondía debajo de la cama o de una mesa; al final mi vecina se sentó en su sofá y el gato se sentó junto a ella, y se quedó quieto por unos minutos en los que aproveché para tomarle fotos.

Encontré algunos datos interesantes que no conocía sobre los gatos:

Un gato puede oir mucho mejor que un perro. Son muy sensibles a las vibraciones y por eso peuden detectar un temblor 15 minutos antes que un ser humano.

En promedio, el gato pasa 2/3 del día durmiendo; los gatos pequeños duermen mucho porque mientras lo hacen, liberan la hormona del crecimiento.

Un gato puede saltar hasta 5 veces su altura en un sólo brinco.

Los gatos negros son símbolo de mala suerte en muchos paises del mundo, pero en algunas partes de Australia se consideran buena suerte.
Un gato tiene normalmente 12 bigotes a cada lado de su cara; su corazon late dos veces mas rápido que el de un ser humano.

Datos de la toma: Nikon D5000 ; lente: Tamron AF 55-200; 200 mm, ISO 1600;  f/5,6 ; 1/200 sec.

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Feliz fin de semana!

Saludos!

Pablo.

18 thoughts on “Day 114

  1. Espectacular!!! El enfoque en el detalle de la cara es buenisimo y la expresion del gato fenomenal. Aprovecho para decirte que todos los dias leo tu post, no siempre puedo comentar, pero gracias por compartirnos tu proyecto, todos los dias nos enamoras mas de la fotografia. Ya quiero ser como tu!!, jajaja! Un abrazo.

  2. I find that cats can be really tough to photograph (when they are awake, which is obviously the most interesting time to do it). Even when they are sitting still, they are frequently still moving their heads, just to be “on the alert.” This is a very successful shot!

  3. a great portrait! He looks quite annoyed and not appreciating the posing for a camera. Always nice with some story behind the photos and interesting info, I knew most of it before but some was new for me.

  4. No sabés lo mucho que me fascina esta toma! Me encanta la expresión de amargura del gato, los colores de la toma, y todos los detalles que lograste capturar (bigotes, pelos, y sobretodo los ojos!!).

    Esta está super flickeriable, no? Me encantaría darle un fav 🙂

    Un saludo Pablo!

  5. i really like this post pablo, interesting info i did not know. i love tight crops, beautiful kitty, beautiful image 🙂

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

