Day 106

Hi Everybody!

I finally found the bird that I had been looking for!

I saw it yesterday in the botanical garden, but the light was terrible, so I only captured silhouettes and not all of them were well focused; but today I decided to give it a try again, went back for a couple of minutes, saw only one bird and shot 2 times, afterwards he flew away. But today’s photos came out much better than yesterday’s.

This bird is known as blue crowned motmot; it has a large head, and some tail feathers that distinguish them from other birds. The center tail feathers, which twitch like the pendulum of a clock when the motmot is perched, have bare spines at the tip. It is about 38–48 cm (15-19 in) long.

They have red eyes, a turquoise crown and black face, and their plumage is green and blue; they are found from Mexico to Argentina, specially in rainy forests although they can also live in shaded coffee farms.

Males and females share parental responsibility, they live near water streams so that they can find easily a place to drink and bath.

Despite their size, these birds can be very hard to find because they sit still for hours, I’ve experienced that already.

They eat small things such as crickets, earth worms and lizards, but they also eat fruits.

Before I finish this post, I would like to thank to my fellow-photographer Cindy-cfbookchick-, who has given me an award for my blog.

In order to keep this award, I have to share something about myself and then, pass it to another photographers, so here I go:
I’m an industrial engineering student, I really like and enjoy studying it; I remember that I always said: “I’m never gonna become an engineer” because I was kind of afraid; truth be told  my dream was to become a psychiatrist, but then I found out that if you wanna do so, you have to study medicine first and I’m not a good candidate for medicine.Some years ago I didn’t like nature, I wasn’t the adventurous guy that I’ve become; now I enjoy being in the nature, going to hike, swimming in water streams; and I love animals specially birds, I really enjoy taking photos of them, looking at their details and playing with them if they are not aggressive.Some day, I would like to write a book; not sure yet about what, but probably about the story of my great-grand parents, they are from Syria and came to Colombia long time ago, there are so many fun and interesting things to be written.
I used to be extremely shy, not anymore, but still I’m the kind of guy who doesn’t talk a lot in the beginning; I need to get to know more  the people before I can’t stop talking; and I agree with Jennifer: my photos will tell you more about me than my words.
And now I am gonna pass the award to some deserving bloggers:
Dxpixel365
Lemony shots
366 and all that

Photo Journeys
You guys don’t have to do anything if you don’t want to; I just had the time to write some more about me and show what blogs I follow the most.Exif Data:Nikon D5000 ; lens: Tamron AF 55-200; 200 mm, ISO 200;  f/5,6 ; 1/80 sec.

Feel free to leave feedback, critiques or suggestions.

Regards.

Hola a todos!

Al fin encontré el pájaro que tanto he buscado!
En verdad, lo vi ayer en el jardín botánico, pero la luz era pésima en el lugar donde lo encontré, así que sólo pude capturar unas siluetas y no todas estaban bien enfocadas.
Hoy decidí intentarlo otra vez, volví al jardín con una amiga, y aunque sólo nos dieron unos minutos porque estaban a punto de cerrar, entramos corriendo y lo encontramos, alcancé a tomar sólo dos fotos y luego voló; las fotos salieron mucho mejores que las de ayer.
El pájaro conocido como barranquero, pájaro bobo, barranquillo o guardabarrancos azul, tienen una larga cabeza y cola que los distingue de otras aves; su cola se mueve como un péndulo, de un lado a otro cuando se posan sobre alguna rama, y tiene dos vértebras al final; mide entre 38 y 48 centímetros.

Tienen ojos rojos, una corona color turquesa, cara negra y su plumaje es verde y azul; se encuentran desde México hasta Argentina, especialmente en las selvas; pero también viven en fincas cafeteras donde no se expongan mucho al sol.

El macho y la hembra comparten las responsabilidades de padres, y eligen vivir cerca de corrientes de agua para poder beber y bañarse.

A pesar de su gran tamaño, es muy dificil encontrarlos, pues se pueden posar en un árbol totalmente quietos por periodos de tiempo muy largos, ya lo he vivido muchas veces😉.

Se alimentan de insectos pequeños como grillos y lombrices, reptiles como lagartijas y también comen frutas.

Datos de la toma: Nikon D5000 ; lente: Tamron AF 55-200; 200 mm, ISO 200;  f/5,6 ; 1/80 sec.

Críticas, comentarios y/o sugerencias son bienvenidas.

Saludos!

Pablo.

24 thoughts on “Day 106

  1. ¡Qué bien! Felicitaciones… Creo que las horas en búsqueda de este pájaro no fueron en vano, por lo menos logró tomar otras fotos como excusa. Me alegro mucho por usted porque pudo aprovechar su 106° oportunidad.

  2. Por fin lo encontraste, porque siempre fue la foto que quisiste tomar, pero mira nunca te diste por vencido y lo lograste. Quedo muy linda .

  3. First of all, Pablo, thank you so much for recognizing my blog in this way! You are so kind to do that! I’m really honored that you would include me in this list!

    Second, I just want to say how spectacular this blue crowned motmot is! His turquoise crown is unbelievable. That color looks almost otherworldly. No wonder you’ve been searching for this bird: what a perfect subject!

    1. Hello, again, Pablo. I meant to congratulate you, too, on receiving the Lovely Blog Award. It was a great opportunity for the rest of us to learn a little about you! Also, I wanted to let you know that it may take me a couple of days to follow through on posting my own receipt of the award… as you say it takes time!🙂 Thanks again! And all best wishes to you!

  4. Congrats on finally catching that darn bird.. He’s gorgeous and I can see how your obsession grew to capture a shot of it.. Nice shot and love the soft bokeh it created.

    You are so kind to share your award with me.. (not sure if i’m supposed to do anything) but I’m happy to know that you enjoy my blog postings. I too am quite shy and found that I had a voice through my blog. I enjoy photography and it helps me to express myself..

    have a wonderful weekend🙂
    PIx

  5. You have truly mastered the art of photographing birds. Every photo you post is so vibrant and dripping with color!
    I am so happy that you participated and let us all get to know you a bit better – I can imagine that your father is quite proud of you.

      1. That is a colorful bird in your picture on day 85.

        A long time ago I lived in Honduras, where I taught math for two years, so I learned to get along in Spanish. In addition, I have an academic background in linguistics, particularly involving the Romance languages; if you click my name at the top of this comment you’ll see that I also have a blog about the etymologies of Spanish and English words, though I’ll confess there’s a lot more interest in the one that features photographs of nature.

  6. Congratulations, Pablo! You do have a lovely blog! I can just imagine you sneaking over the fence stalking Mr. Motmot. He is a cool-looking fellow.

    Start writing posts about your Syrian grandparents. Then you can collect all of your WP memories into a book. I’d really enjoy reading about them. Think about it.

Comments and critiques are apreciated.

